Nick Jonas On Partying With Taylor Swift And Becoming A Gay Icon

About a year ago, Nick Jonas hit a dead end. Day Jonas Brothers as king’s boy-band purity ring-rolling were long over, and the trio of brothers had canceled a scheduled meeting tour and album in the face of low demand. “There were a couple of months to sit and do nothing,” says the singer, 22. “Then I woke up one morning and thought…’This is not my life I’m going to work much harder” Your relaunch solo it worked: Jonas ultracatchy single “Jealous” is a Top 10 smash, is dating former Miss Universe Olivia blame, and half-naked photo shoots have made him an adult sex symbol. “It’s really weird, to be honest,” says Jonas. “I’ve never had a song like ‘Jealous.’ It’s very flattering. ”
Nick Jonas

Recently Instagrammed a photo of himself with a mask zebra birthday party for Taylor Swift. Care to explain what was going on with that?
Oh, I think that was just the tequila talking. That was a fun night. Taylor gave a very good match. And I was pretty pumped about going out with Jay Z and Beyoncé. Talk about goals relationship!

Speaking of Beyoncé, do you have jealous that she had a song called “Jealous” A year before he released his?
Well, I’ve noticed that there are a lot of songs about jealousy. I do not think I can take possession of the word. And I love Beyoncé, so I would say well.

The photo-shoot he did last year, when you were in your underwear, grabbing his crotch, almost single-handedly jump-started his solo career. Did you know it was going to be a big problem when you took the pictures?
I had no idea. It’s just kind of happened, and now I have a lot of unexpected new fans. It was very interesting to see everything develops and travel in the way it did. It resurfacing at the time, as another male artist [Justin Bieber] has done a photo shoot like it. It’s one of those things where I’m tired of looking at me like that.

Among those photos, his role as gay martial artist in the television series Kingdom and his performances in gay clubs, you become a new gay icon. How do you feel about that?
I do not know if I would necessarily call myself a gay icon. But my goal in the last year was to expand and grow as a person and as an artist, and hugging my gay fans was a priority. Some of my gay friends have thanked me for that, and that’s a very good feeling.

Were you worried about the reaction of his old fans?
Of course. I’d be lying if I said I was not a bit afraid. But you have to be willing to say, “I know I’m pushing myself, and if not everyone comes to me, that’s fine.” I am grateful that many of them did.

When one looks back on his years as an idol into the Jonas Brothers are good memories or they make you cringe?
It is a good balance of both. It was a lot of fun – I have to perform at the White House five or six times, and went to spring training with the Dodgers, which was a highlight of my life. But there are also things that are embarrassing, like looking back at his middle school yearbook. Especially the emphasis in our relations. That can mess with your head. We had a huge female fan base, so we had to make a concerted effort to keep private things and say we did not have girlfriends. I feel bad about it now. I would probably hurt some people.

Our older brother Joe revealed last year that he smoked weed for the first time with Miley Cyrus and Demi Lovato when you were all teenagers. Do you have any stories about getting high with fellow Disney stars?
Uh, never smoked weed with any of my fellow Disney stars. I smoked weed elsewhere [laughs]. But actually it was more guarded at the time. I was not partying too hard at 15, which is probably best. I loosened a bit since then. My years of Disney feel like a long, long time.

Do you ever meet with the Jonas Brothers Believe?
I do not know. My life has changed a lot in 12 months I cannot predict what tomorrow will bring, you know? It is hard to imagine that says “never”. But for this moment in time I am at the moment, I do not see that happening.

What is the biggest difference between your life now and what being famous the first time?
I think part of the beauty of being an emergent phenomenon is that going 1000 miles per hour, and everything is happening – and that’s the hardest part about it. It is very easy to get used to certain things going at that speed, with the frenzy behind him. But it is not necessarily the basis for the best race of longer duration. This time, I’m trying to create a foundation for that I can do what I love for the rest of my life. I see my career not only as music but as expected an artist in every way, and someone who can have real influence and make great art.

Who are your major models in this regard?
Elvis, sure. He was one of the first to do acting and singing at the same time, and he is obviously an icon. Besides that, I think that Justin Timberlake has done a good job of not only the transition from where you started, but also the balance of acting and singing.

Do you listen to much new music? What have you been loving lately?
The new album of D’Angelo is my favorite. Specifically the song “betray my heart.” It’s amazing to hear someone with so much soul to be creative with melody.

It’s interesting that you mention D’Angelo. It took a nosedive than a decade after showing her toned abs in the video “Untitled”. Can you identify with that?
I definitely understand the pressure you feel in that position, and how it can complicate your mental state. The strange things done when it comes to achieving more beer or want a cheeseburger, and start thinking about how it will affect your body. But I am diabetic, so I have to be health conscious independently.

You are about to open for Iggy Azalea on tour. Have you ever thought about crossing into rap?
You know, I’ve been known to lose a little spoken word in a song from time to time. But not straight rap. I do not know I have that gift [laughs].

Leave a Reply

